Appointment of Commissioners for Health, Education, Environment and Planning

The Parliamentary Ombudsman, Anthony C. Mifsud today administered the Oath of Office to three specialised Commissioners to serve as Commissioners for Administrative Investigations.

Mr Carmel Messina has been re-appointed for another five years as Commissioner for Health.

Mr Charles Caruana Carabez has been appointed Commissioner for Education to succeed Professor Charles Farrugia who has retired.

Perit Alan Saliba has been appointed Commissioner for Environment and Planning.  He succeeds Architect David Pace.

The Commissioners, like the Ombudsman, are autonomous Officers of Parliament and enjoy the same independence and security of tenure.  The Commissioners work independently of each other but co-ordinate their work with the Office of the Ombudsman.

Media Releases